Election 2021: Englewood City Council candidate list finalized

Two races will be contested in November election


Candidates for Englewood City Council have filed their petitions and the race has begun.

Four seats on the seven-member council are on the ballot, but only two are contested in the Nov. 2 election.

In District 2, Chelsea Nunnenkamp is running uncontested for the seat currently held by Linda Olson since 2009. Olson, the current mayor, is term-limited.

Two candidates, Steven Ward and Belinda Porter, are vying for the District 4 seat. Dave Cuesta, who was elected that district’s councilmember in 2017, is not running for another term.

Ward, however, has been serving as an at-large member of the council since March 15, filling the seat vacated earlier that month by John Stone.

Cheryl Wink is running uncontested to keep the at-large seat she has held since 2017. The election is for a four-year term.

A two-year at-large position will also be on the ballot this fall (it is the second half of Stone’s vacated term). Mary Colecchi and Jim Woodward are the candidates for that city council seat. Woodward once served as Englewood’s mayor.

Once elected, the new city council will decide which of its members will serve as mayor and mayor pro tem.

Joe Jefferson, Englewood’s presiding municipal judge since 2017, is running uncontested for the four-year position again this fall.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.