CCM garners 13 awards in annual state contest

Journalists won pair of first-place honors for coverage of STEM School shooting


Colorado Community Media won 13 awards, including nine first-place honors, in the Colorado Press Association's annual Better News Media Contest.

CCM's newspapers competed in Class 4, the classification for the state's largest nondaily publications. Work entered in the contest was published between Nov. 1, 2018 and Oct. 31, 2019. The winners were announced in early May.

Here's a look at CCM's awards:

Breaking news/deadline reporting — first place: Alex DeWind, Jessica Gibbs, David Gilbert, Ellis Arnold, Nick Puckett, for coverage of the STEM School Highlands Ranch shooting.

Classified section — first place: Karen Earhart, Erin Franks, Tina Meltzer

Editorial special section (newsprint) — first place: David Gilbert, Shanna Fortier, Kayla Cornett, Alex DeWind, Joseph Rios, for “Columbine: 20 years later

Editorial special section (glossy or magazine) — second place: Scott Andrews, Erin Franks, Glenn Wallace, Christy Steadman, Shanna Fortier, for “The Golden Guide 2019

Editorial writing — second place: Ann Macari Healey, for “Hope amid grief

Headline writing — first place: Chris Rotar, for “Slow his row” and other headlines

Informational graphic — first place: Kayla Cornett, for “Policing the suburbs” (page 8)

Photo essay — second place: Stefan Brodsky, for “Honoring veterans

Series — first place: Christy Steadman, Casey Van Divier, Glenn Wallace, for “Jefferson Parkway

Serious column writing — second place: Ann Macari Healey, for “The gift of a lifetime

Sports column writing — first place: Jim Benton, for “Overtime

Story/picture combination — first place: David Gilbert, for “Protests converge outside immigrant detention facility

Sustained coverage — first place: Alex DeWind, Jessica Gibbs, for coverage of the STEM School Highlands Ranch shooting

CCM's coverage of the STEM School tragedy also earned three awards (first-, second- and third-place honors) last month in the Society of Professional Journalists' four-state Top of the Rockies contest.


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.