• 20200221-091150-PD20campfire

Entities across Douglas County have enacted stage one fire bans as temperatures begin to rise and wildfire season draws near.

The Douglas County Sheriff’s Office announced its ban, which disallows open burning of any kind, on April 21. Fireworks are also banned. 

Violations of the policy are punishable by a penalty of up to $1,000 and a $10 surcharge. 

Activities that are allowed under the ban include fires within liquid or gas-fueled stoves, indoor fireplaces, indoor wood-burning stoves and charcoal grill fires in developed residential or commercial areas. 

Small recreational fires are also allowed at a developed picnic or campground sites contained in fixed “permanent metal/steel fire pits.” 

Parker, Lone Tree and Castle Rock also announced fire bans.