Residents in Lone Tree and the Park Meadows Metropolitan District, located almost entirely within Lone Tree, will elect board members and vote on a charter amendment during the May 6 election. Lone Tree area residents also can vote for Southgate Water and Sanitation District board members.
Lone Tree residents will vote on a charter amendment designed to ensure the fairness of the city’s future mayoral elections.
The proposed change would prevent a mayor from being elected by a small percentage of the voters, instead ensuring a majority vote. It would also require a run-off election between the top two vote-getters if more than two people ever sought the top council spot. The change would prevent a small but strong group from stacking the votes and potentially deciding a future mayor.
Additionally in Lone Tree, current District 1 Councilmember Jackie Millet and District 2 Councilmember Susan Squyer are running uncontested for new terms.
Polls will be open at the Lone Tree Civic Center, 8527 Lone Tree Parkway in Lone Tree from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 6.
For more information, visit
Five people are seeking three open seats on the Park Meadows Metro District board. They include Charles Dale Flowers, Fred Hammer, Thomas Haning, and incumbents Greg Kelly and Roger Pearson.
The metro district election is by mail-in ballot or walk-in voting from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 6 at the offices of special district representatives Clifton, Larson and Allen, 8390 East Crescent Parkway in Greenwood Village.
For more information, visit
Three people are seeking two spots on the Southgate Water and Sanitation District board. Candidates include William Silkman, Richard Marsicek and Mark Rosser.
Those votes also may be cast at the Lone Tree Civic Center from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.
Southgate’s service area includes portions of Cherry Hills Village, Centennial, Greenwood Village, City of Lone Tree, and unincorporated Arapahoe and Douglas counties.
For more information, visit