Redistricting changes state legislative map: Not easy to see who represents whom


The elections are over but there is still some confusion about who will represent whom in the Colorado General Assembly when the 2013 legislative session starts on Jan. 9.

The U.S. Congressional district map was affected by redistricting after the 2010 U.S. Census but there was little change in Congressional District 5 where Doug Lamborn remains the representative. However, redistricting has made big changes in the state senate and house district maps.

For example, state Senate District 2 used to cover all of southeastern Colorado starting at Fremont County and was represented by Sen. Kevin Grantham (Senate District 2-R). Grantham still represents Fremont County but his district has moved north to include all of El Paso County outside of urban Colorado Springs, Teller, Park and Clear Creek counties. The district he used to represent is now District 35.

People who live in northwest and north-central El Paso County, including Palmer Lake, Monument, U.S. Air Force Academy and Black Forest are still represented by Sen. Kent Lambert (Senate District 9-R) and people in southern Douglas County, including Larkspur, are still represented by Sen. Mark Scheffel (Senate District 4-R).

The state house of representatives has also seen changes with redistricting. People living in Palmer Lake, on the Air Force Academy, Cascade, Chipita Park, Green Mountain Falls and other areas in El Paso County near the Teller County line are in House District 20 and are represented by Republican Bob Gardner. New House District 19, which includes most of Monument, Woodmoor, Black Forest, Peyton, Hanover and points east to the Elbert and Lincoln county lines, is represented by Republican Amy Stephens. House District 18, which includes Manitou Springs and the western edge of Colorado Springs, is represented by Democrat Pete Lee.

All of Teller County is now in new House District 39 along with rural parts of Douglas County, including Larkspur and Westcreek. Republican Polly Lawrence won the new seat in the Nov. 6 election.

People living in Park, Chaffee, Fremont and Custer counties are living in House District 60 and are represented by Republican James Wilson.

Once the 2013 legislative session is underway, constituents will be able to contact all state representatives and senators through directories at As of the time of this writing, the state website had not been updated with new district information but redistricting maps and information are available at


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment