Lamborn, Stephens win republican primary

Clerk and Recorder receives remainder of ballots


Rep. Doug Lamborn and Rep. Amy Stephens have been officially declared the winners in the 2012 El Paso County Primary Election.

The two were in the lead as of Tuesday’s count however only 90 percent of the ballots had been counted because the EPC Clerk and Recorder’s Office was evacuated from the Citizen’s Service Center on Garden of the Gods because the Waldo Canyon Fire had come dangerously close.

Rep. Doug Lamborn won the Republican Primary for U.S House District 5 seat by 37,111 or 61 percent of the vote compared to his challenger Robert Blaha’s 24,001 or 39 percent of the vote. Rep. Amy Stephens, who was pitted against Rep. Marsha Looper for Colorado House District 19 won by 7,448 or 60 percent of the vote. Looper treiled behind with 5,056 or 40 percent of the vote.

On Wednesday morning election personnel received an escort from the sheriff’s office and were able to remove the remaining ballots and equipment and relocated to the southeast Clerk and Recorder’s Office on Power Boulevard and Airport Road.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment