Jeffco schools alter district boundaries


By 3-2 vote, the Jefferson County School District’s Board of Education changed district lines. Board members Laura Boggs and Paula Noonan voted against the redistricting, saying they did not approve with how the new lines bisected some school articulation areas.

The vote came during the board’s March 7 meeting, and alters the board district lines that were established in 2003.

State law requires school districts to update district lines at least every four years.

The state statute reads: Director districts shall be contiguous, compact, and as nearly equal in population as possible.

Board members are elected by all members of the school district, but represent a specific section of the district.

The version of the new boundaries was reviewed at the board’s Feb. 28 meeting.

Among the larger changes, District 5 now extends west to take in Morrison in exchange for more of Littleton to go to District 2, along the western side of C-470. District 3 also gained the Pleasant View and Denver West neighborhoods near Golden.

In the new population distribution, District 5 would have the least population,105,656; while the smallest geographic district, District 4, would represent the most people, 109,434.

New districts

District One: Treasurer Robin Johnson, representing Westminster and Broomfield.

District Two: Second Vice President Laura Boggs, representing Evergreen and Conifer.

District Three: Secretary Jill Fellman, representing Arvada and Wheat Ridge.

District Four: Board President Lesley Dahlkemper, representing Lakewood.

District Five: First Vice President Paula Noonan representing the Morrison and Littleton area. Population of 105,656.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment