Elizabeth chamber names member of the year


Ann Coontz, a sales associate with Viaero Wireless, was named 2012 Member of the Year by the Elizabeth Area Chamber of Commerce at the group's annual meeting Dec. 13.

Coontz, who was nominated along with Dr. Brooke Terry of Elizabeth Family Dental, was selected for her many business and charitable contributions throughout the community.

“I was very shocked when I heard my name,” said Coontz, who insists the award is more about the community than it is the individual.

Coontz said the honor is the result of a growing symbiotic relationship between the chamber and the community, describing it as a “tornado of positive energy that just keeps coming back.”

“The chamber is really a way for all of us, as members of the business community, to give back by things like employing students or supporting the school,” said Coontz. “It's great when we can rally together and connect with each other in a variety of ways.”

“The award is very well deserved,” said chamber president Kari May. “Ann's willingness to step up and help, as well as her positive attitude is, I think, what I appreciate most.”

Coontz said one of her main goals for the coming year is to develop an ambassador program where new members of the community could be welcomed with a gift basket of community resources.

The award ceremony also coincided with the chamber's annual meeting.

Chamber members Tammy Hanes of 2 Chics and a Kitchen, Trudy Slack of BC Building Services, Shawna Jarvis of Big R of Elizabeth, and Kari May of the Elbert County Library District were named to the 2013 board of directors.

May and chamber executive director Beverly Durant presided at the luncheon meeting held at Spring Valley Golf Club.

Each year, chamber members nominate candidates for the award and vote on a list of finalists.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment