Douglas County election roundup (updated): Partridge wins commissioner race


Republican Roger Partridge will be the new county commissioner for District 2. The Sedalia resident, who narrowly defeated former Castle Rock Mayor Randy Reed in the primary, won handily in the general election. With most of the vote counted as of 1 a.m. Nov. 7, Partridge had 63 percent of the vote.

Democrat Terry Krow received 31 percent of the vote and Libertarian Matthew Hess 6 percent.

Partridge takes over for Steve Boand, who is term-limited after having served since 2004. District 2 encompasses Castle Rock, Castle Pines and surrounding unincorporated parts of the county.

State House District 43

Republican incumbent Frank McNulty secured a fourth term in the state House. He defeated Democrat Gary Semro by a margin of 62 percent to 38 percent, according to unofficial results posted by Douglas County.

McNulty has served in the House since 2006. The Highlands Ranch resident was elected speaker of the House in 2010.

McNulty was facing a familiar political opponent. In 2010, McNulty also handily defeated Semro.

The district is made up of Highlands Ranch.

State House District 44

Chris Holbert, the Republican incumbent, won a second term by a large margin. The Parker resident took 75 percent of the vote against Libertarian opponent Jarrod Austin.

The district primarily is made up of Parker and Lone Tree.

State House District 45

Republican incumbent Carole Murray easily wrapped up a third term. The Castle Rock resident won 67 percent of the vote.

Democrat Anthony Stoughton received 29 percent of the vote and Libertarian Hanna Kjerengtroen got 4 percent.

District 45 includes Castle Rock and southern Douglas County.

State Senate District 4

Mark Scheffel, the Republican incumbent, won a second term. The Parker resident garnered 65 percent of the vote.

Democrat Holly Gorman received 31 percent of the vote and Libertarian Chris Grundemann picked up the remainder of votes.

The district includes Castle Rock, Parker and some unincorporated areas of Douglas County.

RTD Board of Directors, District G

Incumbent Jack O’Boyle faced a stiff challenge from former Parker Mayor and Town Councilmember Gary Lasater.

Lasater was narrowly leading 51 percent to 49 percent late on Election Night. The number of votes separating them was less than 1,000.

The district includes, among other areas, Parker and Lone Tree.

RTD Board of Directors, District H

Incumbent Kent Bagley won another term. Unofficially, he picked up 52 percent of the vote in the three-person race.

Ken Mihalik and Tom Grushka got 31 percent and 17 percent of the vote, respectively.

The district includes Highlands Ranch, Littleton and west Centennial, among other areas.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment