Colorado Storm North Royal boys


Colorado Storm North Royal boys, coached by Jeff Carroll, won the U16 State Cup Championship and will represent Colorado in national regional championships in Albuquerque, New Mexico June 16th-22nd.

In the quarter finals, in a classic North – South rivalry, number two seed Strom South Copa led Storm North Royal 2-0 when Tyler Hulst and Luke Cangilla each scored goals to even the game late in the second half. In the first overtime period, Trevor Amann scored to put Storm North Royal in front 3-2. Storm South Copa tied the game 3-3 late in the second overtime period to send the match to a shootout. Storm North players Porter Milner, Ramon Olaso, Tyler Hulst, and Nate Dee were a perfect 4 for 4 during the shootout when Strom North keeper Michael Genge stopped Storm South Copa's 4th goal attempt. Jonathan Clements sealed the deal on the final shootout kick to give Strom North a 4-3 victory.

Semi-final game against Fort Collins Arsenal proved to be a defensive battle. Storm North Royal allowed no goals. In the first half, Trevor Amann scored from a PK making the score 1-0 at the half. Minutes into the second half, Jonathan Clements scored from beyond the 18 yard box to lock up the win.

In the final game, Storm North Royal defeated number one seed Colorado Rush Rush. The game was a defensive battle and ended the half 0-0. Just minutes into the second half, Ramon Olaso connected for a header goal to make the score 1-0. Minutes later, Porter Milner and Trevor Amann added goals to push the score up 3-0. Porter Milner added his second goal of the day to make the score 4-0. Trevor Amann added the final goal of the day to finish the rally. Rush's only score came on a PK late in the second half.

Defenders Michael McNeill, Tyler Duggan, Riley Johnson, Tyler Hulst and Kyle Hitzeman were the defensive support for goalkeepers Michael Genge and Justin Johnson. Their defensive efforts allowed only 4 goals throughout the playoff series against teams which averaged 3.2 goals per game during the tournament.

Offensively Trevor Amann 4 goals, Porter Milner 3 goals, Jonathan Clements 2 goals, Tyler Hulst 2 goals, Ramon Olaso 2 goals, and Nate Dee 1 goal.

Strom North's Jonathan Clements was named State Cup MVP for the tournament.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment