Colorado Community Media wins 132 awards

Five major awards brought home by newspapers

Staff report

Colorado Community Media brought home 132 awards in the annual Colorado Press Association Better Newspaper Contest.
Included in the tally were five special honors. The Tri-Lakes Tribune (Class 1), the Golden Transcript (Class 4) and the Highlands Ranch Herald (Class 5) each won the Advertising Sweepstakes Award. The Tribune also won the Sweepstakes Award in the photo and design category and garnered the coveted General Excellence Award.
The awards were announced at a ceremony Feb. 21 in downtown Denver as part of the press association's annual convention.
For CCM — a 2-year-old media company comprising 22 newspapers and 23 websites covering the north, west and south suburbs of Denver, and El Paso and Teller counties — this year's honors were a continuation of an upward trend. A year ago, CCM was recognized with 95 awards, a major spike from the previous year's 28 earned among the papers.
CCM's south metro publications, based in Highlands Ranch, received 58 awards, including 19 first-place honors and the Advertising Sweepstakes Award.
In the advertising category, production manager Scott Andrews collected 16 awards, including nine first-place honors, for his south metro work. Overall, Andrews, whose duties encompass the entire company, won 28 awards, 14 of which were first place.
On the editorial side, Ryan Boldrey, who recently was promoted from reporter to assistant editor, registered a pair of first-place awards among his total tally of seven. Columnist Ann Macari Healey, reporter Chris Michlewicz and editor Chris Rotar each earned a first-place award.
Page designer Kate Ferraro was recognized three times, including a first-place honor.
Eligible contest entries were published in print or online between Sept. 1, 2012 and Aug. 31, 2013.

No comments on this story | Add your comment
Please log in or register to add your comment