Candidates for city council named


The candidates for open seats in Lakewood’s city council election have been named.

Ward 1: Incumbent Ramey Johnson — Elected in November 2011 to fill the unexpired term of the previous Council member, which ends in this year.

Ward 2: Incumbent Scott Koop — Elected to four-year term in 2009.

Ward 3: Shakti — Lakewood resident of three years. She is currently an aide in the Colorado legislature, and is on the steering committee of the Lower Bear Creek Sub-watershed Project.

Shakti has served on Advisory Commission for an Inclusive Community (ACIC).

Currently she is the chair of the Sustainability Committee.

Dan Smith — Ward 3 resident for more than 28 years, employee at Pinnacol Assurance.

Ward 4: Incumbent David Wiechman — Moved to Lakewood in 1981. Has served on West Metro Fire Protection District and Jefferson Center for Mental Health boards, as well as the City of Lakewood’s Heritage, Culture & Arts Commission and Jeffco District Attorney’s Citizens Advisory Board.

Betty Boyd — Moved to Lakewood in 1974. She served 12 years in the state legislature, starting in the house in 2000. She was reelected twice, and in 2006 Boyd was elected to fill the vacancy in the Senate District 21 seat. She ran again and won in 2008.

Ward 5: Karen Harrison — Lakewood resident of 26 years, owns an insurance agency with her husband, and she specializes in health insurance projects. Currently serves on planning commission.

Michael “Gunner” Gunstanson — Lakewood resident since 2005, currently director of digital marketing at Xanterra Parks & Resorts.

The election will be Nov. 5.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment