Bruins Jaime named soccer player of the year

Junior led Cherry Creek to 5A semifinals


If a goal needed to be scored by the Cherry Creek boys soccer team, odds were good that Miguel Jaime was going to be in the mix.

The junior midfielder wasn't hard to miss on the pitch in 2012. In addition to his team-high 16 goals (no one else on the Bruins' roster had more than five), Jaime's deft ball possession skills enabled him to often control the pace of match.

Jaime was recently selected as the 2012 Colorado Community Media Boys Soccer Player of the Year.

He was instrumental in helping guide the Bruins (11-6-2) to a spot in the Class 5A state semifinals, where they lost a 1-0 heartbreaker to Smoky Hill.

A game earlier, in the quarterfinals, Jaime scored a goal, then set up teammate Kyle Ericson's game-winning goal in a 2-1 double overtime game against Eaglecrest.

“It was exhilarating, just unbelievable,” Ericson said. “(Jaime) played me a fantastic ball. All I had to do was put it in the net.”

Jaime scored a goal in eight straight games early in the 2012 season and ended the season with seven goals in Cherry Creek's last six games.

The junior will be one of many returning players for Cherry Creek in 2013.

“I thought we got better as the year went on,” Cherry Creek coach Chelo Curi said. “We're a young team; we only had two seniors on the field, so it's a young team that has a lot of potential.”

Colorado Community Media All-Star soccer team 2012

First team

F Miguel Jaime, Cherry Creek

F Preston Arguello, Holy Family

F Bryan Howey, Arapahoe

F Luis Castenada, Highlands Ranch MF

MF Owen Braley, Palmer Ridge

MF Evan Young, The Classical Academy

MF Nick Campbell, ThunderRidge

MF Conor Vonesh, Arvada West

D Axel Larssen, Rock Canyon

D Sam Raben, Cherry Creek

GK Tim Erwin, Heritage

Player of the year: Miguel Jaime, Cherry Creek

Coach of the year: Nick Odil, Palmer Ridge

Honorable mention:

Andrew Bell, Palmer Ridge; Colten Corey, Valor Christian; Michael Day, Heritage; Cameron Doody, Faith Christian; Drew Dunn, Rock Canyon; Nick Fedders, Heritage; Zach Folger, ThunderRidge; Kiron Johnson, Ponderosa; Nate Kiszla, Arapahoe; Cameron Knox, Ponderosa; Zach Maas, Highlands Ranch; Grant Meehan, Ponderosa; Zach Melphy, Heritage; Christian Naaes, Regis; Christopher Nazi, Mountain Vista; Jake Peterson, Hertiage; Steven Salter, Mountain Range; Louie Sawaged, Mountain Vista; Mark Seigel, Kent Denver; Yimi Serrano, Jefferson; John Shaffer, Highlands Ranch; Kade Silbaugh, Ponderosa; Alex Tillberry, Palmer Ridge; Peter Tonsits, The Classical Academy; Roberto Valazquez, Highlands Ranch.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment