All about Adams County


At the present time, Adams County has three commissioners to attend to the needs of more than 450,000 residents. They are Eva J. Henry (Chairperson, District 1), “Chaz” Tedesco (District 2) and Erik Hansen (District 3).

For several years a number of us in the county felt there was a need to enlarge the commissioner body to five, thus increasing the efficiency and a need for more oversight.

It became very apparent of the need for more oversight and transparency several years ago when significant misdeeds and downright illegal doings marred the county. Soon the desire for more transparency became an overwhelming absolute necessity for more oversight.

The “ship” needed a course change and a total overhaul. Many of us had already been touting the need to enlarge the board and have greater oversight, leadership and downright hands-on daily official business being conducted.

We continued to work toward enlarging the board based on a very simple belief that it’s harder to corrupt five than it three. Now I say that not because I’m in any way casting aspersions on former commissioners but by what again I’ll state, “one of being easier to convince just two than it would be to convince four or five”.

For that reason and for allowing for an expansion of duties necessitated by a continuing surge in population we finally prevailed and got the measure on the ballot last November. Those in opposition complained that it would cost about $500,000 a year for two more officials. But that pales in comparison for the several millions it cost the county in misdeeds.

So today I’m going to just copy the outline that will be on the ballot for two new commissioners that was published in the Adams County annual 2012-2013 report. We will definitely hear and read more as the months go by but it behooves we residents to have a “heads up” knowledge of how the change will affect us.

Here it is

In 2012, Adams County voters approved a ballot question that expands the size of the Board of County Commissioners from three to five commissioners. Just last month, we approved the map that creates the additional two commissioner districts. In 2014, voters will elect the two new commissioners and in January 2015, the county will be represented by five commissioners residing in specific geographic districts, but will be voted on countywide. All five commissioners will serve Adams County at large.

Quote of the week

“The future lies with those political leaders who realize that the great public is interested more in government than in politics.” Franklin D. Roosevelt

Stay well, stay involved and stay tuned.

Vi June is past Democratic state representative for House District 35. She is a former mayor of Westminster and a former newspaper publisher. A Westminster resident for more than four decades, she and her husband, Bob, have five grown children and eight grandchildren.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment